April 23, 2009

Mushroom & Arugula Pasta

Posted in Pasta: stovetop tagged , , at 11:24 pm by jenniec00ks

So tonight I was really hungry and not feeling so well, so I wanted something comforting that wasn’t *too* fattening.  Comfort food is a personal thing, and I happen to love mushrooms and bright lemony greens.  So I dropped by the Whole Foods (they say sad people spend more) and headed straight for the produce section.  I thought about some hen of the woods and oyster mushrooms as they’re some of my favorite wild mushrooms, but at $25 and $17 a pound…I just couldn’t bring myself to splurge that much.  So I picked up some nice looking white buttons, creminis (baby portobellos), and one big daddy portobello.  Not terribly exotic, but still delicious and only ran me a couple bucks for about a 1/2lb of mushrooms.  Now for the fresh greens, I settled on baby arugula since I had never tried it before.

mushroomcreampasta-002

The finished product!

I didn’t take pictures while experimenting because I was super hungry, but next time.  I will definitely be making this again.  Here’s the recipe for now (it makes 2 servings and didn’t take more than 20ish minutes).

Ingredients:

1 lemon

1/4 tsp dried thyme

1/2 a bag of baby arugula (~2.5 oz)

1/2 lb of your favorite mushrooms

1/2 lb long pasta (I used linguine, bucatini/fettuccine/spaghetti work too)

1/2 cup of half & half

1/4 cup of white wine (I use a sauvignon blanc)

1/4 cup of the delicious EVOO for dressing the arugala & 2 tablespoons of any ‘ole olive oil for sauteeing.

Instructions:

0.  Zest (again w/ the microplane) & juice (watch out for the seeds!) the lemon, and add it to the 1/4 cup of the good EVOO.  Add a little salt and pepper to taste then set it aside.

1.  Start a pan warming up with the 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat.  Also start a pot of water over high heat for the pasta.

2.  Rinse & thickly slice (think rough chop if you’ve got odd shapes) all the mushrooms.  Then put them in the pan for ~10 minutes stirring occasionally.

3.  When the water boils, put the pasta in for however long the box says.  My linguine took ~13 minutes for al dente.

4.  The mushrooms should be very dark and soft after 10 minutes, then add the white wine.

5.  When most the wine has been absorbed/evaporated, add the half & half and STIR gently, frequently.   You don’t want a film to form over the half & half.  Let the sauce simmer for about 5 minutes and add salt, pepper, and a dash or two of dried thyme.

6.  OPTIONAL STEP: Strain the zest from the lemon/olive oil mixture.  This is optional because it takes a pretty fine mesh to catch zest.

7.  Toss the arugula with the lemon/olive oil mixture you made in step 0.  You can eat it as a side dish or fold it in to the hot pasta to wilt it a little.  I wilted mine in for the first helping, but was too anxious the second time around and ate it walking back from the kitchen.

Enjoy!!  And I count from 0 because it’s logical to me, afterall arrays are indexed starting with 0.  🙂

3 Comments »

  1. MongMong said,

    can you feel the love now?

  2. Michael said,

    i’m feelin it, thats fo sho

  3. omikun said,

    Can I come over for food in Atlanta?? 😀


Leave a Reply

