September 24, 2009

What to do with this blog?

Posted in Rambling at 12:54 pm by jenniec00ks

So, I haven’t posted in a long time because I haven’t cooked much in a long time.  Grad school is less time consuming than crazy hard classes @ UT ECE / last semester of undergrad, but too difficult to handle by myself.  The last time I had this much schoolwork to do, I had a *fabulous* roommate who did the dishes and (sort of) cooked with me and apparently that made things manageable.

FYI to any UT ECE, I don’t recommend 360N, 360R, 379K, and 440 in one semester.  440 is only time consuming if someone in your session sucks up the spin-dry.  You know who you are.

So I think this blog is going to have to migrate to a  ‘weekly food survival’ blog.  First up, I haven’t been to the grocery store in a while (couple weeks) but was quite hungry last night around midnight.  I had some delicious egg noodles I had bought in bulk and decided to resort to mom’s chow mein method.

I chopped up 3 cloves of garlic, half a vidialia onion, and some asparagus bottoms that needed to be used up.  Tossed them in a pan with canola oil on high heat and added some preshredded carrots I had lying around.  I found some canned corn in my pantry and thew that in with the softened noodles (2-3 minutes in boiling water), since they both needed only a little time in the hot pan.  Seasonings were simple, a dark mushroom soy sauce and salt.  Pulled that out the pan and looked in the freezer.  I had some extra seafood blend from that spicy seafood soup I made, so I stir fried about 1/3 of the bag and topped the noodles off.  Voila, I had my next 3.5 meals!

More grad school (cheap and efficient) survival posts to come!

Leave a Reply

